Merge Patients

If a duplicate patient record is created in error, e.g. due to a misspelled name, the incorrect record can be merged into the correct one once the issue is identified. During the merge, all specimens associated with the erroneous record are transferred to the legitimate patient, and the duplicate record is then removed from the system.

Step 1

Select the Patients option from the main menu.

Note: The visibility of main menu options is determined by menu permissions. For more information about configuring menu permissions, see: Understanding Menu Permissions.

Step 2

For the patient record you intend to keep, open the overflow menu (“...”) on that patient’s row to view all available actions. If your user role includes the required event permission (see Understanding Event Permissions), the Merge Patient option will be displayed in the menu.

Step 3

Select the Merge Patient action and the first page of the corresponding form will appear.

Step 4

Search for the patient record to be removed by completing one or more of the available search fields, then select Next.  The search results page will appear, showing at least the patient to be removed.

Step 5

Select the patient to be removed by clicking on the appropriate card.  The following confirmation page will appear.

Step 6

If the reference numbers for both patients are correct, select Finish to complete the merge (otherwise, select Back to make the necessary corrections). On completion, the form will close and the duplicate patient will no longer appear in the patient list-view. All specimens previously associated with the removed patient will have been transferred to the retained patient, which can be verified by opening that patient’s record-view.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful